…and they’re off!

In 2004, the Winners Cup Benefit was created to raise funding for the Down syndrome community in West Michigan. Proceeds from the annual Kentucky Derby party and auction benefit the Down Syndrome Association of West Michigan Foundation (DSAWMF), which helps to fund the vital supports, programs and services provided by the DSAWM. The 2017 Winners Cup Benefit will be Saturday, May 6th at Kent Country Club.


 Guest Speaker: Self-Advocate Carrie Bergeron

Carrie Bergeron is a former board member of the National Down Syndrome Congress and currently serves on the Self-Advocacy Council. She loves to share her experiences as a person with Down syndrome, hoping to give insights and encouragement to those associated with Down syndrome. She is the recipient of the “Voices” award from the National Down Syndrome Society as well as the Christian Pueschel Memorial Citizenship award from the National Down Syndrome Congress. She also was inducted into the Alumni Hall of Fame in 2014 at her alma mater, Herkimer Community College.

Her many roles include daughter, sister, volunteer, teacher’s assistant for toddlers with special needs, first degree black belt holder, fitness enthusiast, friend, sign language conversationalist, student, pioneer, dancer, and motivational speaker. Her passion is to spread awareness that all people with Down syndrome and other disabilities should be given every opportunity to meet their individual potential and success. As Carrie says, “I have taken the ‘dis’ from disability and made it my ability to advocate for those of us with special needs.”

title sponsor

Miller Johnson


Die Cad Group, Inc.
Middleville Tool & Die Co.
Silver Bullet Firearms


Mr. John Bertsch
Blackford Capital
Mr. Bob Boylen
Mr. & Mrs. Fred & Elaine Cook
Dan Vos Construction
Elzinga Volkers


Bissell, Inc.
Jandernoa Foundation
King Milling
Lacks Enterprises
Lighthouse Insurance
Mr. & Mrs. Michael & Jaimie Lomonaco
Mr. Aaron Veldheer


Committee Chairs

Bill & Bobbie Jo Blanton

Honorary Chairs

Patty Heffernan
Robert Boylen
Jaimie Lomonaco
Michael Lomonaco

Committee Members

Robert Boylen
Derek Burgess
James Cook
Dustin Daniels
Cameron Dolbow
Brenda Heacock
Jaimie Lomonaco
April Sawhill
Aaron Veldheer